27 July 2017

Wood Awards 2017 shortlist revealed

TRADA image

Twenty outstanding structures and a record 14 furniture and product projects have been nominated for the Wood Awards 2017 shortlist, the TRADA-sponsored competition that features some of Britain’s best designs in wood.


The judging panel of the Buildings category, led by architect Michael Morrison of Purcell, will visit all the shortlisted projects in person, making this a uniquely rigorous competition.


The judges reviewed applications in a variety of categories including: Commercial & Leisure, Education & Public Sector, Interiors, Private and Small Projects. Meanwhile, four bespoke, four production and six student designs have been selected by the judges for the Furniture and Product category, led by Max Fraser, design curator and author.


The shortlist will be showcased at the London Design Fair (Stand B05, Hall T2), Old Truman Brewery, 21-24 September.


Winners will be revealed at the annual Wood Awards ceremony at Carpenters’ Hall on 21st November, by ceremony host Johanna Agerman Ross, Founder of Disegno magazine and Curator of Twentieth Century and Contemporary Furniture and Product Design at the V&A.


Furniture and Products


Annie's Wood/Hundred Food Drain / Three Panelled Screen – Wycliffe Stutchbury

Block Series – Gareth Neal Ltd

Communion Table – Stephen Owen

Time and Texture Installation ('A Landscape Of Objects') – Eleanor Lakelin


Production Made

Foresso – Conor Taylor Ltd

Kitchen Series for Case – Gareth Neal Ltd

Narin Chair – David Irwin

Pero Shelving – Matthew Hilton


Student Designer

Hex Drinks Cabinet – Damian Robinson

HINNY – Harriet Speed

Rustic Stool 1.0 – Mark Laban

SPLIT – Jack Green

TRI – Rowena Edwards

WHY – Archie Will



Commercial & Leisure

Command of the Oceans, Historic Dockyard Chatham – Baynes and Mitchell Architects

The Gateway Buildings, Weald & Downland Living Museum, Chichester – ABIR Architects

Hastings Pier, Hastings – dRMM

Rievaulx Abbey Visitor Centre & Museum, Helmsley – Simpson & Brown


Education & Public Sector

Cowan Court, Cambridge – 6a architects

Glaxosmithkline Carbon Neutral Laboratories for Sustainable Chemistry, Nottingham – Fairhursts Design Group

Maggie's Oldham, Oldham – dRMM 

Wells Cathedral School, Wells – Eric Parry Architects



1 New Burlington Place, London – Allford Hall Monaghan Morris 

Coastal House, Dartmouth – 6a architects

Nautilus, London – Hassan Nourbakhsh (Borheh)

Oak Lined House, London – Knox Bhavan Architects LLP



The Crow's Nest, Dorset – AR Design Studio

Hampshire Passivhaus, Hampshire – Ruth Butler Architects

Stepping Stone House, Maidenhead – Hamish and Lyons

Woodman's Treehouse, West Dorset – Brownlie Ernst and Marks Limited


Small Projects

Belarusian Memorial Chapel, London – Spheron Architects

Feilden Fowles Studio, London – Feilden Fowles Architects 

Saw-Mill Shelter, Beaminster – Architectural Association Design and Make students

The Smile, Chelsea College of Arts, London – Alison Brooks Architects


View the shortlisted projects