Wood Awards 2017: Call for Entries

25 March 2017

Last year, Maggie’s Centre at the Robert Parfett Building by Foster + Partners scooped the top prize. And now the search is on again to find the top architects and designers working in wood in the 2017 Wood Awards.

The Wood Awards: Excellence in British Architecture and Product Design is launching its 2017 call for entries. Co-sponsored by TRADA, the Awards are free to enter and the closing deadline is 26th May 2016.

Established in 1971, the Wood Awards recognises, encourages and promotes outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation using wood in projects throughout the UK. The Wood Awards’ elite independent judging panel not only judges all submitted entries but also visits the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards a uniquely rigorous competition.

The Wood Awards shortlist will be announced in July and the winners will be announced at the Wood Awards ceremony in London on 21 November 2017. The shortlisted projects will be on display at the ceremony and during the London Design Festival.

Michael Morrison of Purcell and Max Fraser of Spotlight Press return as chairmen of the Buildings and Furniture & Product judging panels. New to the Buildings judging panel is Andrew Waugh of Waugh Thistleton Architects. He says: “It’s a fascinating and exciting time to be judging these awards. We are seeing the emergence of a new environmentally aware architecture - an architecture that is centred on the beauty of wooden construction - an age of timber architecture.”

The 2017 categories will be confirmed at the shortlisting. Building categories are likely to be Commercial & Leisure, Education & Public Sector, Interiors, Private and Small Project. The Furniture & Product competition will be split into Bespoke, Production Made, and Student Designer which is open to anyone currently in education or who has left education in the past 12 months.

Within the Student category there are two cash prizes (£1,000 for the Winner and £500 for the People’s Choice). Other awards, such as Structural and Existing Building awards, can be given at the judges’ discretion.

The Wood Awards top prize, the Arnold Laver Gold Award, goes to the overall winner of winners. In addition to last year’s top prize winner Maggie’s Centre, previous Gold Award winners include: The Hurlingham Club Outdoor Pool by David Morley Architects, the Ditchling Museum of Art + Craft by Adam Richards Architects, and most recently, The Fishing Hut by Niall McLaughlin Architects. All previous category winners from 2003 onwards can now be found on the new digital archive on the Wood Awards website.

With permission from the owner, anyone associated with a building or product completed in the last two years, can enter. Buildings must be located within the UK whilst furniture and other products must have been either designed or manufactured in the UK. There are no restrictions on the size, budget or function of entries. The competition is free to enter and entrants may submit more than one project.

Enter the Wood Awards 2017.
Registered users and members can read our new case studies on the Maggie's Centre at the Robert Parfett Building (Arnold Laver Gold Award Winner) and Stanbrook Abbey (Education and Public Sector Winner). See the full list of winners from 2016.


Softwood flooring

American Softwoods

33 Rosebery Road
N10 2LE

t: 020 8444 0885

Map | | Website
Pine, Scots

Joseph Griggs & Co Limited

Bristol Road

t: 01452 520346

Map | | Website
Security doors

RB Doors & Joinery Ltd

Unit A2 Larkfield Trading Estate
New Hythe Lane
ME20 6SW

t: 01622 792015/6

Map | | Website